Governing Body

The Governors of Cromford Church of England Primary School

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions and ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the Headteacher, staff and the local authority. Whilst the Headteacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors have a more strategic role involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

Governing Body meetings

The Governing Body holds five governor meetings in an academic year to meet and review the progress of the school.  The Governing Body meetings for 2023/24 are as follows:

    • Thursday 28th September 2023
    • Thursday 23rd November 2023 
    • Thursday 21st March 2023
    • Thursday 2nd May 2024 – Budget Approval 
    • Thursday 4th July 2024 

The Governing Body also has committees to deal with specific details of governing the school.  These committees report back to the Governing Body meetings. 

Named Governors

A number of governors are also ‘Named Governors’ with responsibilities to review curriculum and other areas of the school’s role.  Each named governor meets the subject leader in school who is responsible for that subject area.

Governing Body Information

In December 2014 the governing body elected to reconstitute under ‘The School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012’.   The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The Chair of Governors is Alison Whittaker who can be contacted via her school email AWhittaker@cromford.derbyshire.sch.uk

The Vice-Chair of Governors is Gill Donaldson.

The Governing Body is made up of 13 governors divided into 5 governor categories.